THE REASON WHY I LOVE “OCEANS”

The first time I heard the song Oceans (Where feet may fail) by Hillsong United, I instantly fell in love with it. I can’t recall how many times that I do play the song on a daily basis. I listen to it wherever I am; at the train station, while working in the office, and even when I am already under the covers before I send myself to sleep.

Apart from the song being so beautiful, Taya’s voice is awesome. I can feel the sincerity and the warmth of her voice as she sings the song. Hmmm. I have a crush on her. *blushes*

image

Here are the lyrics of this beautiful song:

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior
[x6]

I will call upon Your Name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine

(Source: azlyrics.com)

Wow. Those words. 🙂

My favorite part is that where I ask the Holy Spirit to lead me all the way without any iota of holding back, of doubt, of reservations, and of fear. It’s as if I am personally talking to Jesus.

“Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me”

“Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior”

Biblically speaking, the song is primarily based on that instance when Jesus’ disciples were in a boat which was being buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it. In the middle of the raging sea, they saw a man walking on the water towards their direction; they even thought it was a ghost. Later then they realized that it was Jesus himself.

Peter, in  disbelief, asked Jesus: “Lord, if it’s you, please tell me to come to you on the water.” Jesus said, “Come”.

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said,why did you doubt?”. (Matthew 14:22-33)

image

Like Peter, why do we doubt? Why do we fear? Why do we test God?

It’s simply because we are human and by nature we are frail. Nonetheless, we have an option and this is to choose to believe in God, in Jesus who is the perfecter of our faith(Hebrews 12:2)

We may fear, we may doubt our capabilities and even God himself, but there is always this Supreme Being that will hold our hand and catch us, just like how Jesus caught Peter from drowning in the water. Isn’t it amazing? Jesus is our Lifeguard. Oh so sweet.

I doubt my future. I fear the unknown. We all do, I guess. But just as what the song says, we can call upon His name, keep our eyes above the waves, and let our soul rest in His embrace when oceans rise.

Let us always trust in the Lord. There is no need to worry because we have a God who is ever willing to provide for us and to keep us safe and triumphant amidst life’s adversities.

Oh, praise God. Thank You Jesus!

Leave a Reply

