“NO OTHER NAME” ALBUM REVIEW

Three days after its worldwide release this July 2014, I got myself a copy of Hillsong Worship’s newest album called “NO OTHER NAME”.

One thing that I like about this album is the HONESTY that all the songs exude. I guess, this is just really how Hillsong creates music for the soul; it’s all about praising and worshiping Jesus to the highest possible extent.

This I Believe (The Creed)

Worship leader: Matt Crocker

POWERFUL. This is how I can describe the first track in the album. This is the ultimate song of declaring one’ s faith. Here are some of its lyrics:

“I believe in God our Father
I believe in Christ the Son
I believe in the Holy Spirit
Our God is three in one
I believe in the resurrection
That we will rise again
For I believe in the Name of Jesus”

One of the best songs in the album, I must say!

Heaven and Earth

Worship leader: David Ware

This song has a rocky edge in it. The bridge is a great “last-song-syndrome” candidate. It will surely keep on playing in your head after you listen to it for a few times.

“By His stripes we are healed
By His death we can live
In Jesus Name, in Jesus Name

All oppression will cease
Every captive released
In Jesus Name, in Jesus Name.”

Broken Vessels (Amazing Grace)

Worship leader: Taya Smith

Taya Smith during their Zion Tour in Manila, July 13, 2014

taya-smith-oceans

 Photo from Hillsong Website

The “Girl who sings Oceans” returns with a very anointed song called “Broken Vessels” with a mix of the classic “Amazing grace” lyrics. Since the release of Hillsong United’s Zion album, the world has been captivated by the beautiful, ethereal voice of Taya Smith in her song “Oceans”. I guess everybody will agree with me if I would say that Oceans is a humongous smash hit from the group’s Zion album. Yes?

“Oh I can see You now
Oh I can see the love in Your eyes
Laying Yourself down
Raising up the broken to life.”

No Other Name

Worship leader: Joel Houston and Jad Gillies

Hillsong United 06-13-14 (18)

So here is the song from where the title of the album has been gained from. As expected, the voices of Joel and Jad made the song so powerful along with its moving lyrics! This is undeniably a perfect song to worship, no other name, Jesus.

“One Name holds weight above them all
His fame outlasts the earth He formed
His praise resounds beyond the stars
And echoes in our hearts the greatest One of all.”

This is actually one of favorites from the album!

Depths

Worship leader: Marty Sampson

The song where the name Jesus is being mentioned for so many times!

“In Your presence I quiet my soul
And I hear Your voice
In my spirit I hear the sound
Of salvation’s song
Jesus, Jesus.”

I can really feel Jesus’ presence whenever I listen to it. For real.

Calvary

Worship leader: Reuben Morgan

Jesus carried the cross to Calvary, was nailed and died for our sins. This song is the most perfect one to honor the King of kings, the Servant of all servants.

“Calvary covers it all
My sin and shame
Don’t count anymore
All praise to the One
Who has ransomed my soul
Calvary covers it all.”

Thank You Jesus

Worship leader: Hannah Hobbs

This song speaks a lot. True to the very words of this song, I gladly thank You Jesus for everything that You’ve done. Thank you so much.

“You’ve given me life
You’ve opened my eyes
I love You Lord, I love You Lord”.

All Things New

Worship leader: Ben Fielding

I actually heard the song last Sunday in our church. I was so happy that they sang it. True enough, Jesus makes all things new. He revives us. He refreshes our soul with his love. No further questions asked.

“You make all things new
You make all things new
Yesterday and forever
Your love never changing
This hope never fading
Hallelujah”

My Story

Worship leader: Reuben Morgan

“Take my life but give me Jesus
To know You God is why I live
Take the world but give me Jesus
For all my days I’ll follow You”

reuben-morgan

Photo: http://closed1357246.wordpress.com

Our Father

Worship leader: Annie Garratt

worship-leader-training-annie-garratt-hillsong-collected

Photo: Hillsong.com

“Our Father hallowed be Your Name
Forever our God be exalted
Your kingdom come
And in us let Your will be done
Our Father.”

It is obvious that this song is based from the bible in Matthew 6:9-13 where Jesus taught his people how to pray.

Mountain

Worship leader: Jad Gillies

“Your Name my hope
Fortress in the raging storm
My heart is Your home
Jesus let Your love take hold”

Hillsong United 06-13-14 (22)

Overall, this album is a must-have! My favorite is “This I Believe (The Creed)”. #ASTIG

Last July 13, 2014, Hillsong United led the Filipino Christians in worshiping Jesus at the Big Dome. I was there and I can’t still move on from it. That was so epic! And I think I need to tell you that I can’t wait for Hillsong Worship to come back here in Manila and lead us again in singing these new inspiring songs!!! Yes!

Go grab a copy, my friend!

To God be the glory! 🙂

Lyrics from http://www.newreleasetuesday.com

Leave a Reply

