LOST AT THE AGE OF 23

At the age of twenty-three, I still do not know what career path I would really like to take. I feel like I am facing so many crossroads and I am so confused which way I must choose. This results to me feeling afraid, unsecured, and worried about my future.

When I was in college, I took up Political Science because I love talking about social issues. I like doing research, analyzing stuff, write, read, and write again. It isn’t my childhood dream but I used to like being a lawyer someday. However, I can feel that lawyering is not really for me. Three years have already passed after graduating in college and I am still trying to determine what I really wanted to be, There are times that I want to be a college professor, a book author, a TV personality (sorry), and, okay, to be a lawyer still if I’d be given the chance to enter law school.

I have been working in the corporate world for almost three years now. I have never experienced being a tambay after I graduated in college. That is too lame for me to consider. In that three years of working, I have been to three jobs as well. I am lost, you might say. My first job was in a BPO industry. I left because I just wanted to seek greener pasture (yes, the usual excuse). The second one is in a real estate firm (I left because I had to). And the third one is in a private group of companies which I plan to leave again and look for another job that will make me feel happy, satisfied, and stable.

They said that a person needs to identify what his passions are and from there, he can identify what profession he can take. So following that, allow me to question myself. “WHAT ARE MY PASSIONS IN LIFE?”.

Let me try to answer that. First of all, I love writing. Secondly, I love the English language. The next one is, I love speaking in front of people though I feel so nervous whenever I do so. I am still inclined to social issues; though not very specific to news and current affairs. I am a bit outdated on that part. *laughs*

Those are my major interests in life. Those are the stuff where I think, in all modesty, I excel. So what job can I get considering them? Writing. English. Communications. Social issues. Perhaps I can be a book author. Or an English teacher. Or a Social Science professor. Or a journalist. Or a Public Servant. Or a government employee. Or a lawyer. Or a TV actor (wait, what?).

I do not really know. This is how confused I am when it comes to my career. To tell you honestly, I have been asking God to show me the right way to success everyday. It has always been part of my prayers in the morning and at nighttime before I sleep.

This is only a challenge that I need to overcome. I think this is what they call the “quarter-life crisis”. I hate to call it as a crisis. It’s too negative.

Well, I guess most who are on their twenty’s out there can relate to me. I hope you’re all doing well and not thinking of doing suicide (please don’t).

As i write this article, I pulled up a new tab on my browser and googled about “quarter-life crisis”. According to the article written by Matt Kwong:

A 2011 British Psychological Society study interviewed 50 subjects in the quarter-life crisis age range, then identified five stages of the phenomenon:

Phase 1 – A feeling of being trapped or locked in a job or relationship, or both.

Phase 2 – A rising sense that change is attainable, and that those commitments can be broken off.

Phase 3 – Taking action by quitting the unfulfilling job, ending a relationship or making some change to alleviate the feeling of being trapped, then experimenting with new experiences to test out a new kind of lifestyle.

Phase 4 – Rebuilding your life.

Phase 5 – Developing new commitments more attuned to your interests and aspirations.

I am on the third phase yet leading towards Phase 5 and Phase 4 as my final stage.

To reiterate, I am currently thinking of resigning from my current job and looking for a new one; a better one, I should say. I am starting to clearly identify what I really want; my interests and my aspirations. Then maybe once I am able to determine the right stuff for me, that is where I will continue rebuilding my life.

Do not worry. Once I get there, I will definitely let you know about it, maybe 5 years from now. By then, I am gonna be 28, financially secured, established and successful.

Jeremiah 29:11-13

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Leave a Reply

