BACK TO BICOL (REPOSTED)

(Originally posted in January, 2014.)

Like those that I see on cartoon network, a bulb shone bright right the side of my head one fine day and made me decide to make a travel blog.

I am a Bicolano by heart and I want my first travel blog to feature my hometown, the beautiful city of Legazpi! Please fasten your seat belt now and allow me to give you a quick tour to my most favorite place in the WORLD.

It was just last December 2013 when I came back to Legazpi all the way from Manila. Although it was just a three-day vacation, I took the time to capture almost all the beautiful things I see there.

It’s so amazing to wake up, jump out of the wooden bed, go out of the house, look up to the sky while doing morning stretches and see this kind of view.

image

The picture above is just right outside our house in Pawa, Legazpi City. That is part of the huge santol tree that stood the test of time for more than a decade now. My cousins and I used to climb that tree when we were young; oh I had a very nice childhood.

Here are some other God-sent gifts I have seen around our yard:

image

image

My Auntie Fe is so fond of flowers. I don’t know if her, being a spinster, is, in any way, related to that.

image

Most houses in Bicol have balconies or verandas. In our local term we call it “Balkon”. The photo above shows the material used to serve as our balkon’s walls. Yes, walls.

image

image

This is my Auntie Fe’s lowly sari-sari store. It’s been up for more than 30 years now.

THE FAMOUS RUINS

Of course, one’s visit to Bicol will never be complete if you do not check out the prominent Cagsawa Ruins. It was May last year when we visited the said place. As expected, the view is spectacular and jaw-dropping!

image

Reality check:

image

Every view is a love-at-first-sight-material!

image

Only the church tower remains of the Cagsawa Church, which was buried by the 1814 eruption of Mayon Volcano. The ruins are roughly 11 kilometres (6.8 mi) away from the summit of the dangerous yet beautiful formation. (wikipedia)

image

image

Baby girl can’t help but strike a pose with these souvenir items being sold in one of the many stalls around the park. They are made of raw materials such as the “Bicol abaca” which has already claimed international fame!

image

image

There is a lot of stuff you can find here! From fresh flowers to abaca bags, oh you can shop until you drop!

image

The Bicolano version of a teddy bear.

image

Cheesy halo-halo delight!

image

The next time I go back to Bicol, I’ll make sure that I get to taste the sili ice cream! I love spicy food! 🙂

image

Kids love jump shots so there they go, aha, the wall of the church tower as their background.

It’s always been a pleasure to go back to the place that is so close to my heart. I love Legazpi City!

I wish to travel the rest of Bicol region! I am sure it’ll be a lot of fun!

image

Leave a Reply

