The Beauty in Experiencing Pain

 

“That’s the thing about pain. It demands to be felt.”

Such were the words of John Green written on his famous novel called “The Fault in Our Stars”.

I have a question for you.

When was the last time that you experienced pain? What kind of pain was it? Is it physical, emotional, psychological,  economical or spiritual?

Whenever or whatever that was, I assure you that you are not alone. All people experience pain, suffering, oppression or distress.

Screen-Shot-2013-07-03-at-11.34.36-AM

The Beauty of Pain

I am not a psychologist nor somebody who is well-versed in explaining pain and its underlying theories.

And if you are going to ask me why I am writing about pain, I actually have no idea. I just want to write about it. I just dwell in the thought that maybe somebody needs to read something like this. Just maybe.

What is pain, anyway? According to Wiki, pain is a distressing feeling often caused by intense or damaging stimuli. In simple terms, pain is a discomfort. It may be in the form of emotional torture, physical stress, or any kind of anxious feeling.

Let me shock you.

There is beauty in pain. There is purpose in distress. Yes, just like there is gold in the digging.

I will give you 5 reasons why pain is beautiful; why feeling pain is okay.

Woman Depressed. Series
1. Pain humbles us.

Humility comes from the Latin word humilis, which literally means low. If you feel humility in front of someone, you feel small in the scheme of things — that you are just a simple, insignificant person.

It is when we are in pain that we desire for comfort.

It is in pain where we feel like we need somebody else to comfort and heal us.

What I am pointing out is that pain gives us the opportunity to lay our defenses down and just be our vulnerable selves.

Pain makes us acknowledge that we are not Gods…. that we aren’t superheroes. (Remember, even superheroes experience pain but since they are “super”, they choose to fight and win”.

When we acknowledge the pain that we feel, that is the time when we allow ourselves to be open for God’s healing.

2. Pain makes us feel alive

Feeling pain is normal. If you no longer experience pain, then there must something wrong with you. It could be because you’re already dead or you are not a human being anymore (which is weird).

Everything that kills me makes me feel alive – One Republic

I remember Annabelle Beam’s line in the movie, “Miracles from Heaven”. While laying on her hospital bed, she told her mom,  “I want to die. I want this to be over so I can go to heaven where there is no pain”.

Why was she able to say that? Because she is still alive.

3. Pain is a teacher

No. I don’t mean that my teachers in school were my kind of pain. Well, sometimes yes. (Laughs)

Next to everything that we learn in school, our experiences are also the best in teaching us lessons in life. These lessons will never be complete without the presence of pain in it.

Sometimes, the painful moments are actually the most memorable ones. Why? Because pain is a feeling, a sensation. And feelings create an impact.

Pain is just like a wound, it leaves a scar. To avoid being wounded again, we will try to be careful. The most important thing is that we learned.

The shift from one emotion to another has a very strong impact, especially if it is from bad to good, or good to better.

4. Pain is a ministry

I’ve read a quote somewhere and it says, “God can turn our mess into a message, a test into a testimony and a trial into triumph”.

Do you agree to that? Well, I do.

Why? Because we can also turn the pains that we have overcome into a story of deliverance, redemption, salvation or whatever you want to call it.

This way, we can bless people who may be undergoing the same pain we  once walked in. Who knows, as you share your story to that person, he’ll tell you “thank you, my friend. Thank you for ministering to me. God is good! He will also help me get through this”.

5. Pain is a blessing

Pain is a blessing because it humbles us, it makes us feel alive, it teaches us great lessons, and it can be a part of our ministry.

My friend, i do not know what you may be going through right now.

You may be hurting because of unpaid debts, fault accussations, unemployment, illness, or whatsoever.

I want you to know that that pain you may be feeling right now is TEMPORARY.

You will overcome that. You just need to surrender it to God, pray about it and allow Him to do great things for you.
As written in Psalm 18:2:

The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Psalm 34:18

The LORD is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.

Join me in this prayer:

Father, I am crushed in spirit. My heart is broken. Problems seem to overwhelm me and take my faith to the lowest point. I am in pain.

Father, I surrender my fate to you, oh God. I know that you have a plan for me. Whatever that plan is, I believe that it is for my good.

Revive me. Refresh me. Sustain me. Transform me.Heal me.

Through your son, Jesus, my Lord and my Savior, I declare freedom from this pain. I now choose to move on and be happy living this life with You.

Amen.

9151943045_80b811e698_b1

Photo credits:

Intent blog, DoctorWhimsy, PropheticFeeler, Defirespire.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

