No longer prisoners

// Week 14 //

It took me a lot of courage to write this post.

I was in doubt about sharing this because I am going to say something that I have not told anybody, except those who are really close to me.

Regardless, I am still going to write this down; for there might be somebody who might stumble on this article and be inspired and be freed.

However, when the Spirit of truth comes, He will guide you into all truth. For He will not speak on His own, but He will speak what He hears, and He will declare to you what is to come. – John 16:13

So here we go.

Many times, I told myself that I am not going to find myself swimming into the dirty waters pf sin again.

But I always failed. I kept on coming back.

This made me disappointment with myself. I felt like I was the most hypocrite Christian that exists in this world.

But you know what? What is surprising is that after falling into the trap, God never failed to comfort me and to tell me that “My child, it’s okay. Yes, you fell but I am here to raise you up. You were deceived, but here I am to give you peace and joy again”.

One night, the enemy is inciting me again to watch a dirty video and escape the beauty of life by entering the world of lust and dirt.

I knew in my mind that it is not right. I knew in my heart that I should not do it because it would hurt my relationship with Jesus.

In that moment of struggle, God sent me a help.

I was browsing my Facebook feed when I randomly saw this video of Pastor David Hernandez:

The fight was so intense: Should I watch this video that will help me, or the other one that will ruin me? My mind was really battling against my flesh.

I felt like I was a ping pong ball. Good. Bad. Good. Bad.

But, praise God! He helped me to choose Him over evil!

I watched the anointed video. It helped me escape the pangs of evil, and live in the beauty of the spirit of peace and joy instead.

Right there, I knew it was a God-moment! I believe that He was present in that struggle and he boldly fought for me.

“I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. – Romans 7:15-24

But a few nights after that, I fell into sin.

Not once. Not twice.

I felt so bad again.

What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ, our Lord! – Romans 7:24

But moments after that darkness, a voice whispered to me and it instructed me to reach out to Him.

And so I grabbed my Bible, and flipped through its pages until I found myself glued to this verse:

“Remember these things, o Jacob, and Israelfor you are my servant; I have formed you. You are my servant, o israel, you will not be forgotten by me. I have wiped out your transgressions like a thick cloud; and your sins like a heavy mist. Return to me, for I have redeemed you.“– Isaiah 44:22

I read it again and again. Then I started to cry because I felt His presence through the Word.

His word is alive!

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. – Hebrews 4:12

God’s gift to the world is redemption and a life that is full.

I have been swept away by the goodness of this God I believe in.

Who am I to be welcomed again?

Who am I to be embraced again?

Who am I to be forgiven again and again? 

The enemy will certainly do its dirty job as we pursue Christ. It will deceive us, and encourage us to do the things that are not from the Spirit.

I guess, what I want to say is that, we do not have to be afraid when we get face to face with the enemy.  The God who watches over us will definitely guide us and send His help.

I don’t know what you are going through, but just in case you find yourself lurking in the miserable field of sin, I would like to encourage you by saying that you will definitely get through that because our God is good, and so are you.

He does not look at our sin. He looks at the goodness of our heart. He may hate the sin, but He will never hate the sinner.

God can’t hate us because He can’t hate himself. Remember, we were created in His likeness and image.

His message to the world is love, and nothing can change that. Not even our many sins.

Everyday is an opportunity to renew our minds, bodies, and spirits. Everyday is a chance to repent, and bring ourselves back to His arms.

His grace is new everyday. He freely gives it to us even before we ask Him of it.

Repentance is always a good choice. Let me reword that: Repentance is always the best choice.

The struggle will always be with us as long as we’re living this life on Earth, but God’s grace is also with us until we reach His eternity.

•••

Father, You are the God who never despise us. You always forgive us. You always welcome us as if we have done nothing wrong. Your mercy is always reachable. Your compassion is always available.

My sin is great but Your love is greater. Nothing can separate us away fom Your love, Lord. GKsdjsksnskaksdjsjsk. Thank you, Jesus.

As we come back to You and experience your beautiful and holy redemption, we pray that we continue to live in Your light. Protect us. Guide us. Help is fix our eyes on You. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

•••

Worship song of the week:

Unforgettable moments in photos this week:


Leave a Reply

