TO THE MOUNTAIN

Every end of the year, I always see to it that I go to a place where I can spend some quality time with God and with myself.

In 2015 and 2016, I went to Baguio City for my solo retreat. This year, I headed to Touch of Glory Prayer Mountain in Antipolo City.

After a few days of contemplating and praying for my place of reflection, I came across a site that lists down the best places for soul searching / reflection near Metro Manila.

My non-negotiables for the perfect place were: (1) it should be close to nature; (2) quiet and away from the city; and (3) inexpensive.

Right then, I thought that TOG Prayer Mountain is the perfect place for me to visit this year. It is just 1.5 hours away from Manila, so affordable, and very much close to nature.

I went there on a Friday, which is just a day after my birthday.

By the way, allow me to share my birthday dinner photo. It means a lot to me because I’m with my family and Cath this time.

There is no entrance fee at the TOG Prayer Mountain but since I stayed for a night at their dormitory, I paid PHP 350.00. The room was decent and comfortable enough for me to have a good night sleep.

I’ve been looking forward to have this kind of quality time when I can just be still and be in God’s presence to recall how faithful He has been in my life, and how He stayed true to His promises.

My favorite spot in the place are its prayer cells. I thought I am going to spend most of my time outside, but this time, I chose to be “away from the world.” I kept myself in of those prayer cells.

The prayer cells are very small rooms that can accommodate one person only. There are no windows.

For more than three hours, I stayed inside the dark cell with my bible, highlighters, pen, music, and my earphones.

In one of my prayer/worship moments, I just felt like the presence of the Holy Spirit was so thick inside that small room. It seemed like it was not just me who was in there. I believe Jesus met me in that very moment. So beautiful.

That time, I felt like I am in a prison cell because it was dark there, with just a small lamp good enough to give light for my reading. It was so quiet inside. It was just me and my God.

And so, I decided to read the letters of Paul which he wrote while he was in prison. As I was reading the scripture, I felt like something is stirring in my heart — the gift of freedom and salvation.

I read the book of Romans.

That was, I think, the very first time that I read the bible with so much focus and delight.

I may not recall all the bible verses that striked my heart, but His messages for me that day were so clear. Maybe these words can summarize what He told me: LOVE, FAITH, SALVATION, SPIRIT, and FREEDOM. All I know is that He spoke to me like a Father comforting a child.

Yup, that was truly a God moment! Praise God!

Another memorable moment that I had is when I was reading the POGI book of Ardy Roberto.

Seated on a bench under a huge tree, I read the pages while listening to my Spotify random playlist. Suddenly, King of Grace (KOG) played and it really suprised me. I am still in awe with how God used this song in a very special way. I can’t comprehend fully well how a song that I composed in the four corners of my room, with just using the basic chords I know, can end up on my Spotify playlist, and blessing other people. Hmm, thank you Father. You are good.

Another beautiful message that He has given me that day is the gift of renewal.

“Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead.” – Philippians 3:

God was so generous in giving me a big message. That day, He also assured me that I have already been forgiven and justified even before I asked him for it.

As I was reading Paul’s letters to the Romans, he mentioned about Abraham’s circumcision. The question was: How is righteousness obtained?

In the old days in the Bible, the jews were so preoccupied by the thoughts of being circumcised first before they can be called righteous, cleansed, justified, etc.

To counterfeit this, Paul wrote:

For he is not a Jew, which is one outwardly; neither is that circumcision, which is outward in the flesh:

But he is a Jew, which is one inwardly; and circumcision is that of the heart, in the spirit, and not in the letter; whose praise is not of men, but of God. – Romans 2:28-29

Relating it to Abraham, Paul asked “when was Abraham justified? Was it before or after circumcision?

It was not after, but before he was circumcised.

He received the sign of circumcision as a seal of the righteousness that he had by faith while he was still uncircumcised.

The purpose was to make him the father of all who believe without being circumcised, so that righteousness would be counted to them as well, and to make him the father of the circumcised who are not merely circumcised but who also walk in the footsteps of the faith that our father Abraham had before he was circumcised. – Romans 4:9-12

Truly, I have been justified even before the whole thing happened.

God is already in my future, orchestrating the beautiful melody of life.

Flats and sharps may happen, but the harmony of peace through the Holy Spirit of God will still reign in my life.

Thank you, Jesus. You are so kind.

Standard

Leave a comment